Air Force names AFMC NCO 1 of 12 outstanding Airmen

Master Sgt. James Mogren

Master Sgt. James P. Mogren

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- Air Force officials announced Aug. 3 that Master Sgt. James P. Mogren of the 72nd Security Forces Squadron, Tinker Air Force Base, Okla., was selected as one of the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2010.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center in San Antonio considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and the Air Staff. The board selected the 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

Other winners named include the following Airmen:

--Senior Master Sgt. Steven Higgins, U.S. Air Forces in Europe
--Master Sgt. Sarah A. Sparks, Air Force Space Command
--Tech. Sgt. Anthony G. Graham, Pacific Air Forces
--Tech. Sgt. Stephen R. Hunter Jr., Air Force Reserve Command
--Staff Sgt. Joseph R. Aton, Air Combat Command
--Staff Sgt. Kenneth I. Walker III, Air National Guard
--Staff Sgt. Robert Gutierrez Jr., Air Force Special Operations Command
--Staff Sgt. Zully M. Renon, Air Education and Training Command
--Senior Airman Cheryl A. Moore, Air Force District of Washington
--Senior Airman Ryan D. Pfeifer, Air Force Global Strike Command
--Airman 1st Class Samuel A. Siewert, Air Mobility Command

Air Force Association officials will honor the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year during its Air and Space Conference and Technology Exposition in Washington, D.C., in September. The Airmen will also serve as members of the AFA's enlisted advisory council for the next year.