An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Kathryn J. Sowers, a member of the Senior Executive Service, is Director of Strategic, Plans Programs, Requirements, and Analyses, Air Force Materiel Command, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. Ms. Sowers is responsible for command-wide strategic planning, programming, enterprise analyses, wargaming and operational requirements. She governs the Program Objective Memorandum process for AFMC, Agile Combat Support requirements and the Weapons Systems Sustainment components worth more than $40 billion.

Ms. Sowers began her financial career in 1984 at Wright-Patterson AFB. In Sept. 1990, she moved to Washington, D.C., where she served in the Pentagon as the Air Force Cost Analysis Improvement Group Chair. In 1995, Ms. Sowers returned to Wright-Patterson AFB where she led the Earned Value Management Division and held Chief Financial Officer positions in Training Aircraft and Reconnaissance Programs before career broadening in 2002 to Program Management. Ms. Sowers served as the C-17 Deputy Director, C-5 Reliability Enhancement and Re-Engining Program Director, and Deputy Program Executive Officer for Intelligence, Surveillance, Reconnaissance and Special Operations Forces. In 2015, Ms. Sowers was selected to the Senior Executive Service as Director of Financial Management and Comptroller for the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, where she was responsible for 1,600 financial personnel, as well as advice and oversight regarding funds management worth $304 billion.

1984 Bachelor of Science, dual degree in Accounting & Finance, Wright State University, Ohio
1988 Master of Business Administration, Wright State University, Ohio
1995 Industrial College of the Armed Forces, Fort Lesley J. McNair, Washington, D.C.
2003 Leadership for a Democratic Society, Federal Executive Institute, Charlottesville, Va.
2009 Executive Program Manager’s Course, Defense Acquisition University, Fort Belvoir, Va.

1. October 1984–November 1987, Financial Specialist/Cost Analyst, Financial Management Home Office, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio
2. November 1987–September 1990, Cost Estimator, later, Supervisory Financial Analyst, B-2 Program office, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
3. September 1990–September 1992, Financial/Cost Analyst, Special Programs, the Pentagon, Arlington, Va.
4. September 1992–September 1995, Supervisory Operations Research Analyst, the Pentagon, Arlington, Va.
5. September 1995–September 1996, Supervisory Schedule and Cost Performance Analyst, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
6. September 1996–November 2000, Financial Officer, Training Systems Program Office, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
7. November 2000–May 2006, Financial Officer and Program Management Detail, Reconnaissance Systems Wing, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
8. May 2006–February 2010, Deputy Director, C-17 Systems Group, Aeronautical Systems Wing, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
9. February 2010–July 2013, Director, C-5 Reliability Enhancement and Re-Engining Program, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
10. July 2013–June 2015, Deputy Program Executive Officer, Intelligence, Surveillance, Reconnaissance and Special Operation Forces, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
11. June 2015–August 2021, Director, Financial Management and Comptroller, Air Force Life Cycle Management Center, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
12. August 2021–present, Director, Strategic Plans, Programs, Requirements, and Analyses, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

Acquisition Professional Development Financial Management–Level III
Acquisition Professional Development Program Management–Level III

2001 Exemplary Civilian Service Award
2001 Aeronautical Systems Center Financial Management Leadership Award
2001 Air Force Association Management Award, Executive Civilian of the Year
2005 Aeronautical Systems Center Financial Management Chief of the Year
2007 Meritorious Civilian Service Award
2007 Federally Employed Women, Miami Valley Chapter, Supervisor of the Year
2011 Meritorious Civilian Service Award
2015 Meritorious Civilian Service Award
2019 Meritorious Civilian Service Award

(Current as of September 2023)