Air Force Materiel Command   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > AFMC announces, honors annual enlisted award winners
AFMC's 2013 Annual Enlisted Award winners
Air Force Materiel Command's Annual Enlisted Award winners for 2013 stand on stage at the ceremony. From left: Gen. Janet Wolfenbarger, AFMC commander; Master Sgt. Christienne Ruth, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio; Senior Master Sgt. Michael Venning, Wright-Patterson AFB; Staff Sgt. David Phillips, Wright-Patterson AFB; Senior Airman Robert Hile, Wright-Patterson AFB; and Chief Master Sgt. Michael Warner, AFMC command chief. (U.S. Air Force photo/Michelle Gigante)
Download HiRes
AFMC announces, honors annual enlisted award winners

Posted 3/18/2014   Updated 3/20/2014 Email story   Print story


by Kim Bowden
Air Force Materiel Command Public Affairs

3/18/2014 - WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- Air Force Materiel Command hosted its top enlisted Airmen of 2013 during the command's Annual Enlisted Awards event March 11 and 12, 2014.

Twenty-two enlisted Airmen from throughout AFMC's headquarters, centers and wings were nominated to compete in four separate categories -- airman, non-commissioned officer, senior NCO and first sergeant.

"While they're here, the nominees have a detailed, mission-focused itinerary that truly expands their knowledge and understanding of our diverse and critical command," said Chief Master Sgt. Michael Warner, AFMC command chief. "What they learn and experience here benefits all of AFMC, because they will go back and lead their Airmen with a much broader perspective of our great MAJCOM."

The nominees met a face-to-face annual awards board, networked with AFMC's senior leaders at a welcome reception, got to know community leaders from their base at a meet-and-greet with the command's Community Liaison Program members and participated in several professional development sessions.

This year, those sessions included briefings by the center command chiefs, who highlighted the mission of each of AFMC's five centers. The nominees also got to tour certain programs that fall under the centers located here at Wright-Patterson -- the KC-46 Program; the Battlefield Air Targeting, Man-Aided Knowledge (BATMAN) Program; the 711th Patient Transportation and Aircraft Simulator; and the Prisoner of War Equipment and Life Sciences Equipment Laboratories.

"It is important for these outstanding Airmen to experience this event because they have earned it," Warner said. "They worked hard at their jobs, they worked to make themselves better, and they made their communities and bases better places for all our Airmen to live, work and play."

For the culminating event -- the Annual Enlisted Awards Banquet -- more than 200 family members, friends, community leaders and command officials gathered in the modern flight gallery of the National Museum of the United States Air Force to honor the nominees.

The winners are:

Airman Category - Senior Airman Robert M. Hile, 88th Air Base Wing, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. As an Explosive Ordnance Disposal Journeyman, Hile removed and destroyed malfunctioned aircraft flares from a C-17, preventing the loss of a $2.3 million Air Force Reserve Command resource. He also executed the emergency destruction of three unexploded ordnance items in Sidney and Cedarville, Ohio, averting loss of life and $200,000 in property damage.

Non-Commissioned Officer Category - Staff Sgt. David A. Phillips, Headquarters Air Force Materiel Command, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. Phillips used his expertise as the MAJCOM Network Situational Awareness NCOIC to oversee testing for the command's $968,000 emergency notification system contract, ensuring uninterrupted command and control capabilities for crisis response. He also secured $500,000 in requirements for a command-wide video teleconferencing upgrade and prepared 10 bases to meet Department of Defense transition goals.

Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Category - Senior Master Sgt. Michael J. Venning, Headquarters Air Force Materiel Command, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. As the Contracting Functional Area Manager, Venning managed the largest corps of contingency contracting officers in the Air Force. As the uniformed expert for the Contingency Acquisition Support Model, he briefed and demonstrated the program to five Army general officers, ensuring the system was approved for implementation.

First Sergeant Category - Master Sgt. Christienne R. Ruth, 88th Medical Group, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. Ruth showcased her skills as First Sergeant to lead a 653-member squadron, the largest in the Air Force Medical Service. She was also instrumental as a board member for the Fisher House and First Sergeant Council, where she focused on the morale, health and welfare of Airmen and their families.

Gen. Janet Wolfenbarger, AFMC commander, hosted the ceremony. After congratulating all the nominees and winners on a job well done, she thanked them for their excellence.

"All of you have demonstrated a continued pattern of excellence, and I know you will continue that pattern throughout your entire Air Force careers," she said. "Despite over two decades of sustained combat operations and some extremely challenging budget constraints, our service is consistently recognized as the best Air Force in the world. And our outstanding Airmen -- like all of you -- make that so."

The four winners will go on to represent AFMC in the United States Air Force Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year and First Sergeant of the Year competitions held later this year.

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside AFMC

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act