Air Force Materiel Command   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > AFMC announces, honors annual enlisted award winners
AFMC's 2011 Annual Enlisted Award winners
Air Force Materiel Command's Annual Enlisted Award winners for 2011 stand on stage at the ceremony. From left: Master Sgt. Kavina M. Agnew, Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.; Shiela Wallace, Air Force Association Wright Memorial Chapter 212 president; Master Sgt. Alan M. Braden, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio; Gen. Donald Hoffman, AFMC commander; Staff Sgt. Linn A. Knight, Eglin Air Force Base, Fla.; retired Chief Master Sgt. of the Air Force James C. Binnicker; Airman First Class Andrea R.P. Ally, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio; and Chief Master Sgt. Eric R. Jaren, AFMC command chief. (U.S. Air Force photo/Ben Strasser)
Download HiRes
AFMC announces, honors annual enlisted award winners

Posted 3/30/2012   Updated 3/30/2012 Email story   Print story


Air Force Materiel Command Public Affairs

3/30/2012 - WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- Air Force Materiel Command announced its top enlisted Airmen of 2011 during the command's Annual Enlisted Awards Banquet March 29, 2012, at the National Museum of the United States Air Force.

More than 350 family members, friends, wingmen and command officials gathered in the modern flight gallery of the museum to honor the nominees.

Forty-five enlisted Airmen from throughout AFMC's headquarters, centers and specialized units were nominated to compete in four separate categories -- airman, non-commissioned officer, senior NCO and first sergeant.

The winners are:

Airman Category - Airman First Class Andrea R.P. Ally, Headquarters Air Force Material Command, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. Ally's exceptional leadership as a Knowledge Operations Journeyman resulted in the seamless transition of AFMC's server to the Air Force Portal. Additionally, she provided invaluable support to the Freedom of Information Act manager by tracking 200 cases and five time-sensitive congressional requests.

Non-Commissioned Officer Category - Staff Sgt. Linn A. Knight, Air Armament Center, Eglin Air Force Base, Fla. Knight used her skills as an Explosive Ordnance Disposal Journeyman to successfully complete 55 munitions development tests and ensure $820 million of research and development projects were executed on time. She also provided technical support to the United States Secret Service in Washington, D.C., protecting President Obama.

Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Category - Master Sgt. Alan M. Braden, Aeronautical Systems Center, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. As a Career Assistance Advisor, Braden led AFMC's 2011 Professional Development Program of the Year, coordinating 83 courses for 1,300 members. Braden also developed a Major Command Career Assistance Advisor inspection program and the AFMC Command Chief's "Meet the Board" objective, both adopted as command benchmarks.

First Sergeant Category - Master Sgt. Kavina M. Agnew, Oklahoma City Air Logistics Center and 3rd Combat Communications Group, Tinker Air Force Base, Okla. As First Sergeant, Agnew developed the first ever squadron pre-deployment briefing, providing both support and resiliency resources to 45 Airmen and their spouses. She meticulously maintained 46 family care plans, with her program being recognized by the AFMC Inspection Team as a "Strength."

Gen. Donald Hoffman, AFMC commander, presided over the ceremony. After congratulating all the nominees and winners on a job well done, he thanked them for their excellence.

"As we stand here in the National Museum of the United States Air Force, we stand in the shadows of the Airmen who came before us," Hoffman said. "It's always an impressive venue to recognize excellence, and indeed this room is filled with excellence tonight.

"It doesn't matter if we make our Air Force half the size it is now, or a quarter of the size -- we will still be the best Air Force in the world," he continued. "Not because of the machines we operate, but because our people are the best. Thank you all for the excellence you bring to your United States Air Force."

The four winners will go on to represent AFMC in the United States Air Force Twelve Outstanding Airmen of the Year and First Sergeant of the Year competitions held later this year.

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside AFMC

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act