An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2018 Annual Recognition Award winners named

  • Published
Staff-level winners of the 2018 Headquarters Air Force Materiel Command Annual Awards were announced during an awards recognition breakfast on Jan. 25, 2019 at the Wright Patterson AFB Club.

-Airman of the Year – Airman 1st Class Rachael Beale, AFMC/Air, Space and Cyberspace Operations

-Noncommissioned Officer of the Year – Tech. Sgt. Carlos Fernandez Martinez, AFMC/Logistics, Civil Engineering, Force Protection and Nuclear Integration

-Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year – Senior Master Sgt. Michael Henderson, AFMC/Air, Space and Cyberspace Operations

-Company Grade Officer of the Year – Capt. Todd Gamiles, AFMC/Director of Staff

-Field Grade Officer of the Year – Maj. Shane McConnell, AFMC/Plans, Programs, Requirements and Assessments

-Category I of the Year – Matthew Moore, AFMC/Financial Management

-Category II of the Year – David Bourgeois, AFMC/Surgeon General

-Category III of the Year – Barry Vanderpool, AFMC/Inspector General

Winners from each category will go on to compete in the AFMC Annual Excellence Awards.