An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

AFMC honors top 2020 headquarters Airmen during virtual event

  • Published
  • By Estella Holmes, Air Force Materiel Command

Air Force Materiel Command civilian and military personnel were recognized Feb. 5 at the 2020 Headquarters Annual Civilian and Military Award Recognition Ceremony headlined by Gen. Arnold W. Bunch, Jr., AFMC commander.


“It’s the Airmen in the command that make us the greatest and most important command, and it is extremely important and critical that we recognize their great work. Congratulations--you should be very proud,” said Bunch.


Directors, deputy directors, direct supervisors and special guests for each award nominee were invited to share the moment during the Microsoft Commercial Virtual Remote event as the top performers from the civilian, enlisted and officer ranks at headquarters were announced.


“Each of you absolutely stood out among your peers, and I look to recognize you in person in the future,” said Chief Master Sgt. Stanley C. Cadell, AFMC command chief.


Eight Airmen were selected as AFMC’s brightest stars, from a field of 46 nominees. The winners are listed below by category.


Military categories:


AirmanSenior Airman Casey J. Conwell, Air Space and Information Operations Directorate


Noncommissioned OfficerTech. Sgt. James B. Ely, Judge Advocate Directorate


Senior Noncommissioned OfficerMaster Sgt. Bianca M. Contway, Contracting Directorate


Company Grade OfficerCapt. Evan R. Hanson, Air Force Materiel Command Commander’s Action Group


Field Grade OfficerMaj. Craig M. Bayer, Space and Information Operations Directorate


Civilian categories:


Category lAaliyah M. Patten, Financial Management Directorate


Category IIDavid P. Bourgeois, Surgeon General Directorate


Category IIILandon C. Bailey, Strategic Plans, Programs, Requirements and Assessments Directorate


At the conclusion of the ceremony, each winner adjourned to a breakout room for a Virtual Receiving Line. Online etiquette was continually maintained in the breakout rooms where award recipients received further virtual acclaim, praise and admiration.


“All the best as you compete against the centers next month in your respective categories,” said Bunch.